by • December 13, 2014 • Primera B MetropolitanaComments (0)1194

The Primera B Metropolitana switches its name to Metropolitano A

The third division of Argentine professional football will now be known as “Metropolitano A”, beginning 2015. 

After a recent AFA resolution the tournaments in the third, fourth and fifth divisions of Argentine football formerly known as Primera B Metropolitana, Primera C and Primera D will be known from now on as Metropolitano A, Metropolitano B and Metropolitano C.

The Metropolitano A tournament will be played between 22 teams, in two rounds, between the 15th of February and November. It will count with no “libre” (free) teams as the previous editions had had, with one team not playing a week. The idea is to play continuously without no mid-week rounds and no other breaks besides two weeks that will not be played (the PASO eliminary elections to define candidates for the presidential elections that will tally out one week as well). And also, a mandatory june break for the Copa America 2015 in Chile.

Given the new structure two teams will go up to the Nacional B Tournament: the champion of the tournament (whomever ends up first) and a second promotion to be defined through a playoff between the second, third, fourth and fifth teams ending in such positions at the end of the competition. Two teams will go down as well to the Metropolitano B tournament as well (formerly known as Primera C Metropolitano), which will be according to the Promedios (average point system) relegation in Argentine football defined between the two teams with the worst point average in the last three and a half years.

It will come with the returns of Flandria (Jáuregui), Defensores de Belgrano (Belgrano) relegated six months ago to the Primera C Metropolitana, as well as the ascent of the astonishing Diego Maradona fended and encouraged Deportivo Riestra (Bajo Flores) who has gone from Primera D to Primera B in a year and six months.

There are no transfer market restrictions in place so far for this window up to the beginning of the tournament in February, though there is no specification yet to what will happen in June-July at the winter break of the tournament.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: