by • December 8, 2015 • Almagro, Almagro, Primera B MetropolitanaComments (0)1033

Almagro (1) – Deportivo Morón (1): Almagro goes up to the Nacional B

In a final full of chills and thrills, Almagro managed to keep the advantage and has won the promotion to the Nacional B.

In what could be called an oddity, Club Almagro has won one of the playoffs with a comfortable distance in years to achieve promotion to the Nacional B. First, with a heart breaking quarter final against Atlanta that ended 2-1, then the 4-0 victory against arch rivals Estudiantes de Buenos Aires for the semi finals, and now a 5-1 global difference (4-0 victory on home ground, and 1-1 away) against Giunta’s Deportivo Morón for the tricolor led by Fernando “Cabezón” Ruiz to get Almagro steadfast on the way to return to Primera División, a category Almagro hasn’t seen since 2005.

It is unsurprising though, that among the names in the roster a couple of names stand out from having participated in that last season in the Primera Division (such as Lucas Sparapani, and the converter of the equalising penalty kick Diego Castano) to bring back an Almagro side that had gone through four managers this season to find the spearhead at the final at the hands of Fernando Ruiz (and having left out names such as Nestor Rapa, Luis Tonelotto or Mario Finarolli) joined by some fresh talents such as Franco Quiroz or some seasoned ones such as Oscar Altamirano up front or Celso Esquivel (former San Lorenzo player) at the back.

Also surprising- the promotion that is, but nevertheless impressive- is Almagro’s performance in the playoffs as we have previously mentioned, counting on Almagro’s meagre campaign in the regular phase: ending up in seventh position, 21 points below the champions Brown de Adrogué, with 16 won games, 12 games ending in draw and 14 defeats in total.


Morel; Broggi, Otermin, Mayola; Ramos (subbed by De Ossa), Lillo (subbed by Nania), Toledo, Peralta (subbed by Pardo); Yassogna, Altobelli, Mendieta.

46min Nanía for Lillo and De Ossa for Ramos, and 70min Pardo for Peralta.
Manager: Blas Giunta

Agustin Gomez; Ronconi, Sansotre, Arrechea, Luciatti; Colombini, Chavez (subbed by Sparapani), Quiroz, Arce (subbed by Castagno); Altamirano (subbed by Rouquet), Ruiz Sosa.

End of first half- Rouquet for Altamirano, 68min Castano for Arce and 89min Sparapani for Chávez.
Manager: Fernando Ruiz

Goals: 58min Junior Mendieta (M) and 87min Maxi Castano (A).
Yellow cards: 26min Altobelli (M), 28min Colombini (A); 45min Lillo (M), 62min Peralta (M), 80min Nanía (M) and 88min Castano (A).
Red cards: 37min Colombini (A), por doble amonestación.
Referee: Nicolas Lamolina

Featured photo courtesy of Copa Argentina

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: