by • October 16, 2015 • Primera B MetropolitanaComments (0)1153

Meet the “Selección de la B”

A new Selección Nacional team is being bred: all from U23 players from Primera B. Check it out.

Under the command of former world champion Julio “el vasco” Olarticoechea, a new breed of National Team is being bred. The names were announced today from AFA after Olarticoechea’s picks were agreed with AFA’s VP (and leader of the executive table of the Primera B) Claudio “Chiqui” Tapia.

How to begin with this subject? The invitation to a youth team tournament in India in 2016 spurred the AFA to create a new team out of categories not usually considered in the U23, U20 or U17 – U15 national teams. In January, 2016 this alternative national team will participate in a type of tournament (“Esperanzas”) that usually serves to spot unseen talents as well as lift a shop window for players of teams of less visibility (such as the Primera B Metropolitana).

Has there been any history of this before? Yes, all the way back to 1983 where Argentina played (and won) the Merdeka Cup in Malaysia, with Racing’s Miguel Angel Colombatti and Atlanta’s Jorge Piaggio (Winner of the 1979 world cup along with Diego Maradona and Ramón Díaz, now Paraguay’s national team manager).

Is this a good idea? Even though the feasability of the performance of the Primera B players could be mildly overperformed by reserves or youth players of Primera División teams or even Nacional B teams could be certain, this by no means says that there are not interesting players in the horizon– names promising to rise in the first teams such as Milton Gimenez, to Facundo Ferrero (Deportivo Merlo, who participated in previous U15 and U17 Argentina national teams) to first team players such as Nicolás Yaqué (Almagro), Nicolás Morgantini (Platense) and Sergio Acosta (UAI Urquiza) set a record of a team that may be worth watching in the Indian tournament.

When does this start then? From monday 19th, at 2pm in the afternoon in AFA’s Ezeiza training grounds.

The names of the players to be called from each team:

Matías Caputo, Pedro Sosa (Flandria); Ángel Cequeira, Milton Giménez, Rodrigo Esmail (Atlanta); Ariel Bogarin, Juan Pablo Ruiz Gómez, Alan Sosa (Brown); Juan Infante, Agustín Palavecino, Nicolás Morgantini (Platense); Matías Zacarías, Miguel Barbieri, Alan Giménez (Defensores de Belgrano); Guillermo Ocampo, Cristian Canan, Brian Manchuca (Almirante Brown); Brian Herrera, Brian Martín, Facundo Ferrero (Deportivo Merlo); Facundo Stable, Santiago Tossi, Miguel Cantarella (Colegiales); Bruno Piatta, Fabricio Espósito, Horacio Balbuena (Barracas Central); Rodrigo Izco, Manuel Estévez (Comunicaciones); Nicolás Caro Torres, Fernando Joao (Estudiantes); Nicolás Mantovano, Alan Kardasinski (Villa San Carlos); Nicolás Sansotre, Nicolás Yaque (Almagro); Julián Giménez, Manuel Capasso (Acassuso); Gabriel Seijo, Sergio Acosta (UAI Urquiza); Jonathan Benítez, Gonzalo Paz (Deportivo Armenio); Junior Mendieta, Cristian Broggi (Deportivo Morón); Cristian Amarilla, Miguel Pavón (Deportivo Español); Milton Velázquez, Lucas Falcone (Deportivo Italiano); Matías Molina (Tristán Suárez).

Julio “el vasco” Olarticoechea, in charge of the National Women’s football team – Featured photo courtesy of Clarin

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: